Graduate Students

Name Field Concentration Dissertation Proposal Advisor
Ahmad Abdul-Rahim aabdulrahim@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature El-Shamsy, Ahmed
Mehmetcan Akpinar akpinar@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Abū Bakr and His Image in the Second/Eighth Century Kadi, Wadad
Toygun Altintas taltintas@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Shissler, Holly
Ercument Asil Islamic History and Civilization Popular Science and Religious Reform in the Ottoman Empire, 1860-1918 Shissler, Holly
Natasha Ayers ayersn@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Cultural Change in Upper Egypt from the Late Middle Kingdom through Early Dynasty 18: A New Analysis of the Ceramic Material Moeller, Nadine
Rozenn Bailleul-LeSuer rozenn@uchicago.edu Egyptology The Exploitation of Avian Resources in Ancient Egypt: A Socio-Economic Study Johnson, Janet
Kathryn Bandy keb@uchicago.edu Egyptology Town and District: Local and Regional Administration in the Second Intermediate Period Ritner, Robert
Matthew Barber Islamic Thought Bashkin, Orit
Aamir Bashir abashir1@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Islamic Legal & Political Thought El Shamsy, Ahmed
Harry Bastermajian Islamic History and Civilization Modern Middle East History The Armenian News Press of Istanbul under Sultan Abdulhamid II: 1878-1907 Bashkin, Orit
Michael Bechtel bechtel@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Woods, John
Theodore Beers tbeers@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Franklin
Justin Benavidez Islamic Thought El Shamsy, Ahmed
Kevin Blankinship Arabic Language and Literature The Life We Image: Abuʾl-ʿAlāʾ al-Maʿarrī and his Spiritual Legend Qutbuddin, Tahera
Mary Buck Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Pardee, Dennis
Solange Bumbaugh Egyptology Meroitic Worship of Isis: a Study of Nubian Temple Inscriptions from Philae South Johnson, Janet
James Burgin burgin@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Hittitology Aspects of Religious Administration in the Late New Hittite Kingdom van den Hout, Theo
Andrew Burlingame dburlingame@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Pardee, Dennis
Joshua Cannon jwcannon@uchicago.edu
Uchicago Website
Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Anatolia Schloen, David
Megan Clark Ottoman and Turkish Studies Turkish Publics, Minority Privates: an ethnographic investigation of Kurdish and Romani minority language rights advocacy in Turkey Shissler, Holly
Yasar Tolga Cora tolgacora@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 18-20th centuries Transforming Erzurum/Karin: The Social and Economic History of a Multi-ethnic Ottoman City in the 19th c. Shissler, Holly
Joseph Cross jjcross@uchicago.edu
Uchicago Website
Egyptology & Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Robert Ritner, Pardee, Dennis
Ferenc Peter Csirkes Islamic History and Civilization Chaghatay Oration, Ottoman Eloquence, Qizilbash Rhetoric: Turkish Literature in Safavid Persia Lewis, Franklin
Andrew DeRouin derouin@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Woods, John
Andrew Dix dixa@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies More Fifth-Century Babylonian Entrepreneurs: The Kasr Archive and the Tattannu Dossier Farber, Walter
Suleyman Dost dost@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization An Arabian Qur’ān: Towards a Theory of Peninsular Origins Donner, Fred
Madeleine Elfenbein elfenbein@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies La Jeune Turquie and the Birth of Ottomanism, 1856-1878 Shissler, Holly
Ekin Enacar ekin@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 19th and 20th centuries We Laugh at Our Misery: Satirical Press and “Cartoon Space” in the Ottoman Empire and Iran (1907-1911) Shissler, Holly
Carol Fan Islamic History and Civilization Woods, John
Michael Fisher mtf@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia In the Balikh of An Eye: The Development of Social Complexity in the LC 1 Period at Tell Zeidan Gibson, McGuire
Kierra Foley Archaeology Egypt Moeller, Nadine
Michele Gama Sosa Ancient Near Eastern History Payne, Richard
Paul Gauthier pegauthier@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Assyriology (Akkadian) Temple and State in Middle Assyrian Bureaucracy Farber, Walter
Annie Greene algreene@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization 19th & 20th century Ottoman Iraq Bashkin, Orit
Brendan Hainline bhainline@uchicago.edu Egyptology Muhs, Brian
Shiraz Hajiani hajiani@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Medieval Islamic History The Great Resurrection -- Reconstructing Alamut Woods, John
Samuel Harris slharris@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Stein, Gil
Ahmed Hashim Islamic Thought Al-Khatīb al-Baghdādī (d. 463/1071) and the Articulation of Sunnī Hadīth Disciplines Kadi, Wadad
Soloman Hassan sulaymanali@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Modern Shi'ite Thought (Iran and Iraq) Calendar in Imami Law Kadi, Wadad
Brittany Hayden blhayden@uchicago.edu Egyptology Determining Value in a Multicultural Society: Price Formation and Fluctuation in Ptolemaic Egypt Muhs, Brian
Anthony Heffron hthe3rd@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Pascal Held pheld@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought The Hanbali School and Mysticism in Sixth/Twelfth Century Baghdad Fleischer, Cornell
Samuel Hodgkin hodgkin@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Franklin
Alexandra Hoffmann avhoffmann@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Franklin
Ami Huang huanga@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Woods, Christopher
Charles Huff chuff@uchicago.edu Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Sabbath in the Priestly Pentateuchal Sources Pardee, Dennis
Nazli Ipek Huner ipek@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Karateke, Hakan
Robert Matthew Jennings rmjennings@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Schloen, David
Eric Jobe ejobe@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Judaica Innovation in Post-Biblical Hebrew Poetry: A Stylistic Analysis of Qumran, Hekhalot, and Payyetanic Poetry Golb, Norman
Katie Johnson klj@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Islamic Archaeology The Role of the Bektashis in the Ottomanization of Southern Albania Whitcomb, Donald/Fleischer, Cornell
Michael Johnson mjohnson086@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Stein, Gil
Rahaf Kalaaji Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Jamil Kassam Islamic History and Civilization Safavid History Survival and Continuity of the Nizari Ismailis in Safavid Persia Woods, John
Mustafa Kaya ismail@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Pre-Modern Turkey Scholars and the Sufis of Bursa Fleischer, Cornell
Young Bok Kim youngbokkim@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Hebrew Forms of Address Pardee, Dennis
Rhyne King rhyne@uchicago.edu Ancient Near Eastern History Persia Payne, Richard
Bryan Kraemer bkraemer@uchicago.edu Egyptology Abydos as a Place of Ritual Performance and Religious Imagination in Greco-Roman Egypt Johnson, Janet
Anthony Lauricella ajlauricella@uchicago.edu Islamic Archaeology Reuse to Ruin: The Persistence of the Early Islamic Built Landscape Whitcomb, Donald
Sunwoo Lee sunwoolee@uchicago.edu Egyptology Johnson, Janet
Emin Lelic lelice@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization ʿIlm-i firâset & the Ottoman Weltanschauung: A Window into the Soul of an Empire Shissler, Holly
Kate Lockhart klockhart@uchicago.edu Egyptology Spiritual Authority and Material Support in Late Antique Egypt Ritner, Robert
Megaera Lorenz megaera@uchicago.edu Egyptology The Role of Male Royal Offspring in Pharaonic Egypt Dorman, Peter
Joshua Mabra mabraj@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Early Islamic History Donner, Fred
Elise MacArthur Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Negotiating Identity in Middle Kingdom Egypt Moeller, Nadine
Hannah Marcuson marcuson@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Hittitology The Hittite Munus ŠU.GI, or “Old Woman” Goedegebuure, Petra
Robert Marineau rmarineau@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Goedegebuure, Petra
Chelsie May chelsiemay@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Arab Jews of Iraq and Israel Bashkin, Orit
Tytus Mikolajczak Cuneiform Studies The Accounting Texts and Seals in the Persepolis Fortification Archive Stolper, Matthew
Nathaniel Miller namiller@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature Tribal Poetics in Early Arabic Poetry: The Case of Ashʿār Banī Hudhayl Qutbuddin, Tahera
Jessica Mutter jmutter@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization They Are All Servants of God": Conversion and Religious Identity in Early Islamic Syria Donner, Fred
Austin O'Malley omalley@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Cosmic Quest to the Ocean of the Soul: Narrative Structure, Spiritual Instruction, and Sufi Subjectivity in Attar's Mosibat-nama Lewis, Franklin
Pelle Valentin Olsen Islamic History and Civilization 20th Century Cultural History (Iraq) Bashkin, Orit
Charles Otte III cjotte@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Causativity in the Hebrew Verbal System Pardee, Dennis
Kara Peruccio Islamic History and Civilization Modern Turkey Shissler, Holly
Al Peters alpeters@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics A Functional Approach to Semitic Internal Passives Hasselbach, Rebecca
Monica Phillips mlphillips@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Assyriology Heaven on Earth: The Collection of Sumerian Temple Hymns Woods, Christopher
William Pickut bpickut@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Literary Genres in Poetic Texts from the Dead Sea Scrolls Golb, Norman
Laurie Pierce lbpierce@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Franklin
Stephanie Reed sdreed@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia The "Gift Ceremony" as a Rhetorical Device in the Apadana Processional Sculptures at Persepolis Gibson, McGuire
Matthew Richey richeym@uchicago.edu Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Pardee, Dennis
Julio Rivera juliorivera@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Modern Middle Eastern History Bashkin, Orit
Sasha Rohret srohret@uchicago.edu Egyptian Archaeology Moeller, Nadine
Claire Roosien clairenadine@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Shissler, Holly
Mohammad Sagha msagha@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization El Shamsy, Ahmed
August Samie augustsamie@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilizations Woods, John
Akiva Sanders sandersa@uchicago.edu Archaeology Stein, Gil
Émilie Sarrazin esarrazin@uchicago.edu Egyptian Archaeology Moeller, Nadine
Rachel Schine rachelschine@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature Qutbuddin, Tahera
Ahmet Tunç Sen atuncsen@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 15-17th centuries Astrology and the Islamic Millennium: Knowledge, Prophecy, and Politics Fleischer, Cornell
Mariam Sheibani msheibani@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought El Shamsy, Ahmed
Carl Shook Islamic History and Civilization Modern Middle Eastern History The origins and development of Iraq’s national boundaries, 1918-1932 Bashkin, Orit
Oren Siegel osiegel@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Moeller, Nadine
Ariel Singer awksinger@uchicago.edu Egyptology Ritner, Robert
Adam Smith Comparative Semitics Hasselbach, Rebecca
Emily Smith Cuneiform Studies Hittitology Goedegebuure, Petra
Min Won Song minwon@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Care for the Dead: A Study of the Conceptions of Death and the Netherworld Attested in the First Millennium Northwest Semitic Inscriptions Pardee, Dennis
Eudora Struble Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Syria-Palestine From Rock to Stone: Creators and Creation of Stone Objects in the Syro-Hittite Iron Age Schloen, David
Stephen Sumner Northwest Semitics Pardee, Dennis
Sami Sweis sjsweis@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilizations Bashkin, Orit
Robert Tate rtate@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Islamic Archaeology The Seljuk Caravanserais of Anatolia: A GIScience and Landscape Archaeology Study Whitcomb, Donald
Amir Toft Islamic Thought Islamic Law El Shamsy, Ahmed
Oya Topcuoglu oyatopcuoglu@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia In Pursuit of the Assyrians: A Study of Old Assyrian Glyptic and an Attempt to Define the True Old Assyrian Style Gibson, McGuire
Lise Truex liset437@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Private Houses and Palace Administration: Household Economies and Sociopolitical Development in late 3rd Millennium BC Tell Asmar Gibson, McGuire
Diana van Renswoude dvanrens@uchicago.edu Egyptology Muhs, Brian
Vincent van Exel vjvanexel@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Syria-Palestine The Formation of the Iron Age Political Landscape: State formation and ethnicity in Neo-Hittite and Aramaean states Schloen, David
Jeremy Vecchi jtvecchi@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Early Islam & Late Antiquity Donner, Fred
Monique Vincent moniquev@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Syria-Palestine Households, Communities, and Dimensions of Social Identity in the Early Iron Age at Tall al-‘Umayri Schloen, David
Lindsey Weglarz raemarie@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Invisible Women: Gender & “Egyptianization” in New Kingdom Nubia Moeller, Nadine
Andrew Wilent awilent@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies
Jonathan Winnerman jwinnerm@uchicago.edu Egyptology Egypt The Royal Ancestor Cult in New Kingdom Egypt: A Study of the Divinity of the King and His Ancestors Ritner, Robert
Alexandra Witsell Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Archaeological Perspectives on Temple and Neighborhood in Third Millennium BC Khafājah, Iraq Gibson, McGuire
Liran Yadgar yadgar@uchicago.edu
Academia.edu Profile
Islamic History and Civilization Medieval Islamic History The Judeo-Muslim Symbiosis Revisited: Jews and Muslims in the Later Middle Period (1200-1500 C.E.) Lewis, Franklin
Seunghee Yie shyie@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Persepolis Treasury Tablets: Rediscovering the Archival History of the 5th Century BC Persepolis Stolper, Matthew
Hongwei Zhang hongweizhang@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics Hasselbach, Rebecca