Graduate Students

Name Field Concentration Dissertation Proposal Advisor
Ahmad Abdul-Rahim aabdulrahim@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature El-Shamsy, Ahmed
Laith Al-Saud alsaud@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Bashkin, Orit
Toygun Altintas taltintas@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Shissler, Holly
Solange Ashby (Bumbaugh) solange@uchicago.edu Egyptology Calling Out to Isis: the Enduring Nubian Presence at Philae Johnson, Janet
Natasha Ayers Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Cultural Change in Upper Egypt from the Late Middle Kingdom through Early Dynasty 18: A New Analysis of the Ceramic Material Moeller, Nadine
Rozenn Bailleul-LeSuer rozenn@uchicago.edu Egyptology The Exploitation of Avian Resources in Ancient Egypt: A Socio-Economic Study Johnson, Janet
Kathryn Bandy keb@uchicago.edu Egyptology Town and District: Local and Regional Administration during the Second Intermediate Period Ritner, Robert
Matthew Barber Islamic Thought Bashkin, Orit
Aamir Bashir abashir1@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Islamic Legal & Political Thought El Shamsy, Ahmed
Harry Bastermajian harry@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Modern Middle East History Armenian Consciousness and Identity in Nineteenth-Century Istanbul: Eastern and Western Perspectives Bashkin, Orit
Michael Bechtel bechtel@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Woods, John
Theodore Beers tbeers@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Franklin
Justin Benavidez benavidez@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought El Shamsy, Ahmed
Kevin Blankinship bship@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature The Life We Image: Abuʾl-ʿAlāʾ al-Maʿarrī and his Spiritual Legend Qutbuddin, Tahera
Mary Buck mbuck@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitics Pardee, Dennis
James Burgin burgin@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Hittitology Aspects of Religious Administration in the Late New Hittite Kingdom van den Hout, Theo
Andrew Burlingame dburlingame@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Pardee, Dennis
Joshua Cannon jwcannon@uchicago.edu
Uchicago Website
Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Anatolia Performing Power in Hittite Anatolia Stein, Gil
Cara Christenberry cchristenberry@uchicago.edu Ancient Near Eastern History Payne, Richard
Yasar Tolga Cora tolgacora@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 18-20th centuries Transforming Erzurum/Karin: The Social and Economic History of a Multi-ethnic Ottoman City in the 19th c. Shissler, Holly
Joseph Cross jjcross@uchicago.edu
Uchicago Website
Egyptology & Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Robert Ritner, Pardee, Dennis
Andrew DeRouin derouin@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Woods, John
Andrew Dix dixa@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Assyriology Stolper, Matt
Suleyman Dost dost@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization An Arabian Qur’ān: Towards a Theory of Peninsular Origins Donner, Fred
Madeleine Elfenbein elfenbein@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies La Jeune Turquie and the Birth of Ottomanism, 1856-1878 Shissler, Holly
Ekin Enacar ekin@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 19th and 20th centuries Shissler, Holly
Carol Fan carolfan@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Woods, John
Michael Fisher mtf@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Stein, Gil
Adam Flowers adamflowers@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Kierra Foley kierra@uchicago.edu Archaeology Egypt Moeller, Nadine
Michele Gama Sosa mgamasosa@uchicago.edu Ancient Near Eastern History Payne, Richard
Eric Garret ericgarret@uchicago.edu Ancient Near Eastern History Payne, Richard
Paul Gauthier Cuneiform Studies Assyriology (Akkadian) Temple and State in Middle Assyrian Bureaucracy Farber, Walter
Annie Greene Islamic History and Civilization 19th & 20th century Ottoman Iraq Provincial, Not Peripheral: Ottoman-Iraqi Intellectuals, Cultural Production, and Languages of Reform Bashkin, Orit
Brendan Hainline bhainline@uchicago.edu Egyptology Muhs, Brian
Shiraz Hajiani hajiani@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Medieval Islamic History Woods, John
Samuel Harris slharris@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Stein, Gil
Soloman Hassan sulaymanali@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Modern Shi'ite Thought (Iran and Iraq) El Shamsy, Ahmed
Brittany Hayden blhayden@uchicago.edu Egyptology Muhs, Brian
Anthony Heffron hthe3rd@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Pascal Held pheld@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought The Hanbali School and Mysticism in Sixth/Twelfth Century Baghdad Fleischer, Cornell
Samuel Hodgkin hodgkin@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lāhūtī: Persian Poetry in the Making of the Literary International, 1906- 1957 Lewis, Franklin
Alexandra Hoffmann avhoffmann@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Franklin
Ami Huang huanga@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Woods, Christopher
Charles Huff chuff@uchicago.edu Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Pardee, Dennis
Nazli Ipek Huner ipek@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies The story has it: Prose, gender, and space in the Early Modern Ottoman world Karateke, Hakan
Robert Matthew Jennings rmjennings@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology
Michael Johnson mjohnson086@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Stein, Gil
Mustafa Kaya ismail@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Pre-Modern Turkey Scholars and the Sufis of Bursa Fleischer, Cornell
Betül Kaya kayab@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Karateke, Hakan
Tynan Kelly tynank@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature Qutbuddin, Tahera
Young Bok Kim youngbokkim@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Hebrew Forms of Address Pardee, Dennis
Rhyne King rhyne@uchicago.edu Ancient Near Eastern History Persia Payne, Richard
Bryan Kraemer bkraemer@uchicago.edu Egyptology Muhs, Brian
Isabel Lachenauer lachenauer@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Karateke, Hakan
Anthony Lauricella ajlauricella@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Islamic Archaeology Whitcomb, Donald
Sunwoo Lee sunwoolee@uchicago.edu Egyptology Johnson, Janet
Emin Lelic lelice@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Shissler, Holly
Kate Lockhart klockhart@uchicago.edu Egyptology Spiritual Authority and Material Support in Late Antique Egypt Ritner, Robert
Kyle Longworth longworth@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Megaera Lorenz megaera@uchicago.edu Egyptology Johnson, Janet
Thalia Lysen tlysen@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Hittitology van den Hout, Theo
Elise MacArthur Egyptian Archaeology Negotiating Identity in Middle Kingdom Egypt Moeller, Nadine
Hannah Marcuson marcuson@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Hittitology The Hittite Munus ŠU.GI, or “Old Woman” Goedegebuure, Petra
Robert Marineau rmarineau@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Goedegebuure, Petra
Chelsie May chelsiemay@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Arab Jews of Iraq and Israel Bashkin, Orit
Jane Mikkelson jmikkelson@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Franklin
Tytus Mikolajczak Cuneiform Studies Stolper, Matthew
Nathaniel Miller namiller@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature Tribal Poetics in Early Arabic Poetry: The Case of Ashʿār Banī Hudhayl Qutbuddin, Tahera
Veronica Morriss vmmorriss@uchicago.edu Islamic Archaeology Whitcomb, Donald
Jessica Mutter jmutter@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Austin O'Malley omalley@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Poetry and Pedagogy: The Homiletic Verse of Farid al-Din ʿAṭṭâr Lewis, Franklin
Pelle Valentin Olsen pellevalentin@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization 20th Century Cultural History (Iraq) Bashkin, Orit
Charles Otte III cjotte@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Pardee, Dennis
Kara A. Peruccio kaperuccio@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Modern Turkey Shissler, Holly
Al Peters alpeters@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics Hasselbach-Andee, Rebecca
Monica Phillips mlphillips@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Assyriology Uniting Heaven and Earth: The Collection of Sumerian Temple Hymns Woods, Christopher
William Pickut bpickut@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Golb, Norman
Laurie Pierce lbpierce@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature From Sana'i to Sa'di: The Didactic Masnavi as a Repository of Fable Lewis, Franklin
Matthew Richey Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Pardee, Dennis
Julio Rivera juliorivera@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Modern Middle Eastern History Bashkin, Orit
Sasha Rohret srohret@uchicago.edu Egyptian Archaeology Moeller, Nadine
Claire Roosien clairenadine@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Shissler, Holly
Mohammad Sagha msagha@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization El Shamsy, Ahmed
August Samie augustsamie@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilizations Woods, John
Akiva Sanders sandersa@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Stein, Gil
Émilie Sarrazin esarrazin@uchicago.edu Egyptian Archaeology Moeller, Nadine
Rachel Schine rachelschine@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature Qutbuddin, Tahera
Ahmet Tunç Sen atuncsen@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 15-17th centuries Fleischer, Cornell
Mariam Sheibani msheibani@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought ‘More learned than al-Ghazālī’: The Life and Times of ʿIzz al-Dīn b. ʿAbd al-Salām (d. 660/1262) El Shamsy, Ahmed
Carl Shook cshook@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Modern Middle Eastern History The origins and development of Iraq’s national boundaries, 1918-1932 Bashkin, Orit
Oren Siegel osiegel@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Moeller, Nadine
Ariel Singer awksinger@uchicago.edu Egyptology Ritner, Robert
Adam Smith adamthomassmith@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics Hasselbach-Andee, Rebecca
Emily Smith Cuneiform Studies Hittitology Goedegebuure, Petra
Doren Snoek dsnoek@uchicago.edu Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Pardee, Dennis
Min Won Song minwon@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Pardee, Dennis
Stephen Sumner ssumner@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitics Pardee, Dennis
Sami Sweis sjsweis@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilizations Bashkin, Orit
Robert Tate rtate@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Islamic Archaeology Whitcomb, Donald
Amir Toft atoft@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Islamic Law El Shamsy, Ahmed
Oya Topcuoglu oyatopcuoglu@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Emblems of Power: Ideology and Identity in Late Old Assyrian Glyptic Gibson, McGuire
Lise Truex liset437@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Private Houses and Palace Administration: Household Economies and Sociopolitical Development in late 3rd Millennium BC Tell Asmar Gibson, McGuire
Vincent van Exel vjvanexel@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Syria-Palestine Schloen, David
Diana van Renswoude dvanrens@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Pardee, Dennis
Jeremy Vecchi jtvecchi@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Early Islam & Late Antiquity Donner, Fred
Monique Vincent moniquev@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Syria-Palestine Households, Communities, and Dimensions of Social Identity in the Early Iron Age at Tall al-‘Umayri Schloen, David
Ziting Wang zitingw@uchicago.edu Egyptology Johnson, Janet
Lindsey Weglarz raemarie@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Invisible Women: Gender & “Egyptianization” in New Kingdom Nubia Moeller, Nadine
Andrew Wilent awilent@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies
Jonathan Winnerman jwinnerm@uchicago.edu Egyptology Egypt The Royal Ancestor Cult in New Kingdom Egypt: A Study of the Divinity of the King and His Ancestors Ritner, Robert
Teagan Wolter twolter@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Stein, Gil
Kyle Wynter-Stoner kwynterstoner@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature El Shamsy, Ahmed
Liran Yadgar yadgar@uchicago.edu
Academia.edu Profile
Islamic History and Civilization Medieval Islamic History The Judeo-Muslim Symbiosis Revisited: Jews and Muslims in the Later Middle Period (1200-1500 C.E.) Lewis, Franklin
Hongwei Zhang hongweizhang@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics Hasselbach-Andee, Rebecca
Andrew Zulker azulker@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics Hasselbach-Andee, Rebecca