Graduate Students

Name Field Concentration Dissertation Proposal Advisor
Ahmad Abdul-Rahim aabdulrahim@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature Ahmed El-Shamsy
Rodrigo Adem radem@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought The Sources for an Intellectual Biography of Ibn Taymīya El Shamsy, Ahmed
Sabahat Adil sfadil@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization An Itinerant Scholar: The Life, Work, and World of al-Maqqarī (d. 1631/2 CE) El Shamsy, Ahmed
Mehmetcan Akpinar akpinar@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Islamic Thought Abū Bakr and His Image in the Second/Eighth Century Kadi, Wadad
Toygun Altintas taltintas@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Shissler, Holly
Ercument Asil Islamic History and Civilization Popular Science and Religious Reform in the Ottoman Empire, 1860-1918 Shissler, Holly
Natasha Ayers ayersn@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Cultural Change in Upper Egypt from the Late Middle Kingdom through Early Dynasty 18: A New Analysis of the Ceramic Material Moeller, Nadine
Rozenn Bailleul-LeSuer rozenn@uchicago.edu Egyptology The Exploitation of Avian Resources in Ancient Egypt: A Socio-Economic Study Johnson, Janet
Kathryn Bandy keb@uchicago.edu Egyptology Town and District: Local and Regional Administration in the Second Intermediate Period Ritner, Robert
Matthew Barber mtb@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Orit Bashkin
Harry Bastermajian harry@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Modern Middle East History The Armenian News Press of Istanbul under Sultan Abdulhamid II: 1878-1907 Shissler, Holly
Michael Bechtel bechtel@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Woods, John
Theodore Beers tbeers@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Frank
Justin Benavidez Islamic Thought El Shamsy, Ahmed
Drayton Benner Northwest Semitic Philology The Sounds of the Psalter Pardee, Dennis
Kevin Blankinship Arabic Language and Literature The Life We Image: Abuʾl-ʿAlāʾ al-Maʿarrī and his Spiritual Legend Qutbuddin, Tahera
Andrea Brown zeytin@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Karateke, Hakan
Mary Buck mbuck@uchicago.edu Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Pardee, Dennis
Solange Bumbaugh Egyptology Meroitic Worship of Isis: a Study of Nubian Temple Inscriptions from Philae South Johnson, Janet
Andrew Burlingame dburlingame@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Pardee, Dennis
Joshua Cannon jwcannon@uchicago.edu
Uchicago Website
Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Anatolia Schloen, David
Megan Clark Persian Language and Literature Turkish Publics, Minority Privates: an ethnographic investigation of Kurdish and Romani minority language rights advocacy in Turkey Shissler, Holly
Yasar Cora tolgacora@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 18-20th centuries Transforming Erzurum/Karin: The Social and Economic History of a Multi-ethnic Ottoman City in the 19th c. Shissler, Holly
Cameron Cross ksalib@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Modern Persian Literature and Cinema Sin, Shame, and Desire: The Poetics of Romantic Love in Vis and Ramin Lewis, Frank
Joseph Cross jjcross@uchicago.edu
Uchicago Website
Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Pardee, Dennis
Ferenc Peter Csirkes Islamic History and Civilization Chaghatay Oration, Ottoman Eloquence, Qizilbash Rhetoric: Turkish Literature in Safavid Persia Lewis, Frank
Joseph Daniels jldanie@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics Writings within the Landscape: A Comparative Analysis of Epigraphic South Arabian Graffiti and Rock Art from the Dhamar Plains Valley (Yemen) and Qaryat al-Faw (Saudia Arabia) Gragg, Gene
Andrew DeRouin derouin@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Woods, John
Andrew Dix dixa@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies More Fifth-Century Babylonian Entrepreneurs: The Kasr Archive and the Tattannu Dossier Farber, Walter
Suleyman Dost dost@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization An Arabian Qur’ān: Towards a Theory of Peninsular Origins Donner, Fred
Madeleine Elfenbein elfenbein@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies La Jeune Turquie and the Birth of Ottomanism, 1856-1878 Shissler, Holly
Ekin Enacar ekin@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 19th and 20th centuries We Laugh at Our Misery: Satirical Press and “Cartoon Space” in the Ottoman Empire and Iran (1907-1911) Shissler, Holly
Michael Fisher mtf@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia In the Balikh of An Eye: The Development of Social Complexity in the LC 1 Period at Tell Zeidan Gibson, McGuire
Paul Gauthier pegauthier@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Assyriology (Akkadian) Temple and State in Middle Assyrian Bureaucracy Farber, Walter
Annie Greene algreene@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization 19th &20th c. Iraq Bashkin, Orit
Cihangir Gundogdu cihangir@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Modernity, Medicine and Madness in the Late Ottoman Empire (1857-1914) Shissler, Holly
Brendan Hainline bhainline@uchicago.edu Egyptology Muhs, Brian
Shiraz Hajiani hajiani@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Medieval Islamic History The Great Resurrection -- Reconstructing Alamut Woods, John
Samuel Harris slharris@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Stein, Gil
Ahmed Hashim Islamic Thought Al-Khatīb al-Baghdādī (d. 463/1071) and the Articulation of Sunnī Hadīth Disciplines Kadi, Wadad
Soloman Hassan sulaymanali@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Modern Shi'ite Thought (Iran and Iraq) Calendar in Imami Law Kadi, Wadad
Brittany Hayden blhayden@uchicago.edu Egyptology Determining Value in a Multicultural Society: Price Formation and Fluctuation in Ptolemaic Egypt Muhs, Brian
Edmund Hayes edhayes@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought Early Shi'ism Doctrine and community: The ghayba in context. 260-460 H/ 874-1067 CE Lewis, Franklin
Anthony Heffron hthe3rd@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Pascal Held pheld@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought The Hanbali Schhol and Mysticism in Sixth/Twelfth Century Baghdad Fleischer, Cornell
Kaveh Hemmat khemmat@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Iranian History Through the Eyes of Others: Trade Diasporas and Early Modern Geographical Knowledge Woods, John
Samuel Hodgkin hodgkin@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Frank
Ami Huang huanga@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Christopher Woods
Charles Huff chuff@uchicago.edu Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Sabbath in the Priestly Pentateuchal Sources Pardee, Dennis
Nazli Ipek Huner ipek@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Karateke, Hakan
Michael Jennings mdj@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Islamic Archaeology Palermo: Archaeology of an Islamic City Whitcomb, Donald/Donner, Fred
Robert Matthew Jennings rmjennings@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Schloen, David
Eric Jobe ejobe@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Judaica Innovation in Post-Biblical Hebrew Poetry: A Stylistic Analysis of Qumran, Hekhalot, and Payyetanic Poetry Golb, Norman
Katie Johnson klj@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Islamic Archaeology The Role of the Bektashis in the Ottomanization of Southern Albania Whitcomb, Donald/Fleischer, Cornell
Michael Johnson mjohnson086@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Stein, Gil
Rahaf Kalaaji Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Jamil Kassam Islamic History and Civilization Safavid History Survival and Continuity of the Nizari Ismailis in Safavid Persia Woods, John
Mustafa Kaya ismail@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Pre-Modern Turkey Scholars and the Sufis of Bursa Fleischer, Cornell
Young Bok Kim Northwest Semitic Philology Pardee, Dennis
Bryan Kraemer bkraemer@uchicago.edu Egyptology Abydos as a Place of Ritual Performance and Religious Imagination in Greco-Roman Egypt Johnson, Janet
Laura Krenz lmholzweg@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Islamic Archaeology Whitcomb, Donald / Lewis, Franklin
Anthony Lauricella ajlauricella@uchicago.edu Islamic Archaeology Reuse to Ruin: The Persistence of the Early Islamic Built Landscape Whitcomb, Donald
Emin Lelic lelice@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization ʿIlm-i firâset & the Ottoman Weltanschauung: A Window into the Soul of an Empire Shissler, Holly
Kate Lockhart klockhart@uchicago.edu Egyptology Johnson, Janet
Megaera Lorenz megaera@uchicago.edu Egyptology The Role of Male Royal Offspring in Pharaonic Egypt Dorman, Peter
Joshua Mabra mabraj@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Early Islamic History Donner, Fred
Elise MacArthur Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Negotiating Identity in Middle Kingdom Egypt Moeller, Nadine
Hannah Marcuson marcuson@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Hittitology The Hittite Munus ŠU.GI, or “Old Woman” Goedegebuure, Petra
Robert Marineau rmarineau@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Petra Goedegebuure
Christopher Markiewicz cmark@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Statesmen and Scholars in the Creation of Empire: Concepts of Ottoman Rulership (1453-1520) Fleischer, Cornell
Nathan Mastnjak mastnjak@uchicago.edu Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East The Pentateuch in the Book of Jeremiah Pardee, Dennis
Matthew McAffee mjmcaffee@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology A Lexical and Literary Analysis of Life and Mortality in Ugaritic Pardee, Dennis
Tytus Mikolajczak tmikolaj@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies The Accounting Texts and Seals in the Persepolis Fortification Archive Stolper, Matthew
Nathaniel Miller namiller@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature Tribal Poetics in Early Arabic Poetry: The Case of Ashʿār Banī Hudhayl Qutbuddin, Tahera
Jessica Mutter jmutter@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization They Are All Servants of God": Conversion and Religious Identity in Early Islamic Syria Donner, Fred
Austin O'Malley omalley@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Cosmic Quest to the Ocean of the Soul: Narrative Structure, Spiritual Instruction, and Sufi Subjectivity in Attar's Mosibat-nama Woods, John
Charles Otte III cjotte@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Causativity in the Hebrew Verbal System Pardee, Dennis
Tate Paulette tate@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Magazines, Models, and Artificial Societies: The Archaeology of Grain Storage in Third-Millennium Northern Mesopotamia Gibson, McGuire
Michal Peles-Almagor michalpa@uchicago.edu Modern Hebrew Language and Literature Na'ama Rokem
Susan Penacho spenacho@uchicago.edu Egyptology Interactions along Egypt's Southern Frontier: A GIS Analysis of the Natural and Built Environments of the Nubian Fortresses Moeller, Nadine
Al Peters alpeters@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics A Functional Approach to Semitic Internal Passives Hasselbach, Rebecca
Monica Phillips mcrews@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Assyriology The Heavens in the Earth: The Collection of Sumerian Temple Hymns Woods, Christopher
William Pickut bpickut@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Literary Genres in Poetic Texts from the Dead Sea Scrolls Golb, Norman
Laurie Pierce lbpierce@uchicago.edu Persian Language and Literature Lewis, Frank
Stephanie Reed sdreed@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia The "Gift Ceremony" as a Rhetorical Device in the Apadana Processional Sculptures at Persepolis Gibson, McGuire
Matthew Richey richeym@uchicago.edu Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East Pardee, Dennis
Julio Rivera juliorivera@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Modern Middle Eastern History Bashkin, Orit
Sasha Rohret srohret@uchicago.edu Egyptian Archaeology Nadine Moeller
Claire Roosien clairenadine@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Lewis, Franklin
August Samie augustsamie@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilizations John Woods
Émilie Sarrazin esarrazin@uchicago.edu Egyptian Archaeology Nadine Moeller
Rachel Schine rachelschine@uchicago.edu Arabic Language and Literature Tahera Qutbuddin
Stephanie Selover sselover@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Excavating War: The Archaeology of Warfare in Chalcolithic and Early Bronze Age Anantolia And the Effects of War on the Rise of Complex Societies Stein, Gil
Ahmet Tunç Sen atuncsen@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Ottoman History 15-17th centuries Astrology and the Islamic Millennium: Knowledge, Prophecy, and Politics Fleischer, Cornell
Mariam Sheibani msheibani@uchicago.edu Islamic Thought El Shamsy, Ahmed
Carl Shook Islamic History and Civilization Bashkin, Orit
Oren Siegel osiegel@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Moeller, Nadine
Ariel Singer awksinger@uchicago.edu Egyptology Robert Ritner
Adam Smith adamthomassmith@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics Rebecca Hasselbach
Min Won Song minwon@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Care for the Dead: A Study of the Conceptions of Death and the Netherworld Attested in the First Millennium Northwest Semitic Inscriptions Pardee, Dennis
Eudora Struble Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Syria-Palestine From Rock to Stone: Creators and Creation of Stone Objects in the Syro-Hittite Iron Age Schloen, David
Stephen Sumner ssmuner@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitics Dennis Pardee
Sami Sweis sjsweis@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilizations Orit Bashkin
Esra Tasdelen ebirinci@uchicago.edu Ottoman and Turkish Studies Late 19th and early 20th centuries Nationalism in Serial Fiction: The Cases of Ahmet Hikmet Müftüoğlu and Jurjī Zaydān Shissler, Holly
Robert Tate rtate@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Islamic Archaeology The Seljuk Caravanserais of Anatolia: A GIScience and Landscape Archaeology Study Whitcomb, Donald
Amir Toft Islamic Thought Islamic Law El Shamsy, Ahmed
Oya Topcuoglu oyatopcuoglu@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia In Pursuit of the Assyrians: A Study of Old Assyrian Glyptic and an Attempt to Define the True Old Assyrian Style Gibson, McGuire
Lise Truex liset437@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Private Houses and Palace Administration: Household Economies and Sociopolitical Development in late 3rd Millennium BC Tell Asmar Gibson, McGuire
Vincent van Exel vjvanexel@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Syria-Palestine The Formation of the Iron Age Political Landscape: State formation and ethnicity in Neo-Hittite and Aramaean states Schloen, David
Jacqueline Vayntrub jacquelinev@uchicago.edu Northwest Semitic Philology Proverbs and the Limits of Poetry Pardee, Dennis
Jeremy Vecchi Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred
Monique Vincent moniquev@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Syria-Palestine Households, Communities, and Dimensions of Social Identity in the Early Iron Age at Tall al-‘Umayri Schloen, David
Janelle Wade egypt22@uchicago.edu Egyptology 1000 Loaves: The Role of Bread in the Egyptian Economy from the Old Kingdom through the New Kingdom Moeller, Nadine
Lindsey Weglarz raemarie@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Egypt Invisible Women: Gender & “Egyptianization” in New Kingdom Nubia Moeller, Nadine
Andrew Wilent Cuneiform Studies Seri, Andrea
Jonathan Winnerman jwinnerm@uchicago.edu Egyptology Egypt The Royal Ancestor Cult in New Kingdom Egypt: A Study of the Divinity of the King and His Ancestors Ritner, Robert
Alexandra Witsell Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Mesopotamia Archaeological Perspectives on Temple and Neighborhood in Third Millennium BC Khafājah, Iraq Gibson, McGuire
Liran Yadgar yadgar@uchicago.edu
Academia.edu Profile
Islamic History and Civilization Medieval Islamic History The Judeo-Muslim Symbiosis Revisited: Jews and Muslims in the Later Middle Period (1200-1500 C.E.) Lewis, Frank
G. Yazicioglu gbikeyaz@uchicago.edu Near Eastern Art and Archaeology Anatolia People of Kanes in the 21st - 17th c. BC: Communal and Individual Dimensions of Identity in a Cosmopolitan Center in Anatolia Yener, Aslihan
Seunghee Yie shyie@uchicago.edu Cuneiform Studies Persepolis Treasury Tablets: Rediscovering the Archival History of the 5th Century BC Persepolis Stolper, Matthew
Hongwei Zhang hongweizhang@uchicago.edu Comparative Semitics Rebecca Hasselbach
Edward Zychowicz-Coghill epzc@uchicago.edu Islamic History and Civilization Donner, Fred